Seven Wonders of the World

The Seven Wonders of the World (or the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World) refers to remarkable constructions of classical antiquity listed by various authors in guidebooks popular among the ancient Hellenic tourists, particularly in the 1st and 2nd centuries BC. The most prominent of these, the versions by Antipater of Sidon and an observer identified as Philo of Byzantium, comprise seven works located around the eastern Mediterranean rim. The original list inspired innumerable versions through the ages, often listing seven entries. Of the original Seven Wonders, only one—the Great Pyramid of Giza, the oldest of the ancient wonders—remains relatively intact.

Name Date of construction Builder Date of destruction Cause of destruction Modern location
Great Pyramid of Giza 2584–2561 BC Egyptians Still in existence, majority of facade gone Giza Necropolis, Egypt
Hanging Gardens of Babylon Circa 600 BC (evident) Babylonians or Assyrians After 1st century AD Earthquakes Hillah, Babylon Province, Iraq or
Nineveh, Nineveh Province, Iraq
Temple of Artemis at Ephesus Circa 550 BC; and again at 323 BC Lydians, Greeks 356 BC (by Herostratus)
AD 262 (by the Goths)
Arson by Herostratus, plundering Near Selçuk, Izmir Province, Turkey
Statue of Zeus at Olympia 466–456 BC (Temple)
435 BC (Statue)
Greeks 5th–6th centuries AD Disassembled and reassembled at Constantinople; later destroyed by fire Olympia, Greece
Mausoleum at Halicarnassus 351 BC Carians, Greeks 12th-15th century AD Earthquakes Bodrum, Turkey
Colossus of Rhodes 292–280 BC Greeks 226 BC 226 BC Rhodes earthquake Rhodes, Greece
Lighthouse of Alexandria Circa 280 BC Ptolemanic Egyptians, Greeks AD 1303–1480 1303 Crete earthquake Alexandria, Egypt


Great Pyramid of Giza

All Giza Pyramids

Temple of Artemis at Ephesus


Hanging Gardens of Babylon


Statue of Zeus at Olympia


Mausoleum at Halicarnassus


Colossus of Rhodes


Lighthouse of Alexandria